2010 Winners

The One World Media Awards 2010 took place on 22nd June at Kings Place, London. Once again, the ceremony was broadcast on BBC World News to a global audience of millions.

Jon Snow returned to present the ceremony, while the keynote speaker was the Rt Hon Lord Malloch-Brown, formerly Minister of State for Africa, Asia and the UN, and then Vice-Chairman of the World Economic Forum.

Notable winners included Dan McDougall, who was named Journalist of the Year; filmmaker Jamie Doran, who was behind two award winning documentaries; and Makutano Junction, which won the New Media Award after being shortlisted for the Special Award in 2009. The Special Award winner in 2010 was the radio programme Samajhdari, run by Equal Access Nepal. The Drama Award went to the film Birdwatchers and was presented to Director Marco Bechis by actress Greta Scacchi.

The ceremony also featured the second One World Youth Jury, a group of four young people selected in a national competition who got the opportunity to judge the Children’s Rights Award. 2010 also saw the first One World Media Week, a series of related events that took place in the same week as the awards ceremony around London.

Journalist of the Year Award

WINNER Dan McDougall for Live Magazine, Mail on Sunday

Aidan Hartley – Channel 4

Jonathan Rugman – Channel 4 News/ITN

New Media Award

WINNER Makutano Junction – Mediae

Copenhagen Live 24/7 – OneWorld UK

One Campaign Haiti Debt – One

Television Award

WINNER Afghanistan: Behind Enemy Lines – Clover Films for Channel 4

Dispatches: Afghanistan’s Dirty War – October Films for Channel 4

Kids for Sale: Stacey Dooley Investigates – BBC Three

Press Award

WINNER Congo: The Horror – Ed Caesar for GQ Magazine

The Defiant Poets’ Society – Christina Lamb; Sunday Times

Return of the Bloody Diamonds – Dan McDougall; Live Magazine

Feature Documentary Award

WINNER Last Train Home – Lixin Fan

Presumed Guilty – Roberto Hernández, Geoffrey Smith

Mugabe & The White African – Lucy Bailey, Andrew Thompson

Popular Features Award

WINNER Blood, Sweat and Takeaways – BBC Three

They’re Dying to Get to Britain – Live Magazine

The Women Who Became Athletes to Escape Forced Marriage – LOOK Magazine

Radio Award

WINNER Crossing Continents: Uganda – BBC Radio

Dying to Give Birth – BBC World Service

Journey of a Lifetime: The Sinking Islands – BBC Radio 4

Children's Rights Award

WINNER Dispatches: Orphans of Burma’s Cyclone – Quicksilver Media for Channel 4

The First Movie – Connect Film Ltd for More 4

A Step to a Brighter Future – Sunday Times Magazine

Drama Award

WINNER Birdwatchers – Marco Bechis

Johnny Mad Dog – Jean-Stéphane Sauvaire

My Secret Sky – Madoda Ncayiyana

Local Media Award

WINNER E-Waste – BBC Inside out London

Coping with Climate Change – Coventry Telegraph

MAG Diary – BBC Radio Manchester

Environment Award

WINNER The End of the Line – The Fish Film Company

ITV News: Expedition Everest – ITV1

Report on Lithium in Bolivia – Channel 4 News/ITN

MDGs Award

WINNER Africa Rising – Clover Films for TG4

Maternal Mortality – BBC World Service

What in the World: Noma in Niger – RTÉ One

Special Award

WINNER Samajhdari, Equal Access (Nepal)

Appan Samachar (India)

Rien que la Vérité (Congo)

The Team (Kenya)