A Guide to Entering the One World Media Awards

From category overviews and past winners to entry tips from our Awards team, this is your handy guide to entering the One World Media Awards!


With just a few days left to enter the One World Media Awards 2020, it’s time to knuckle down and finish up your awards entry (or entries)! To help you out, we’ve pulled together some of the key information you’ll need, plus a few bonus tips from our awards team.


Step 1: Select your award category (or categories)

From print and documentary, to audio and digital media, the Awards span 15 categories, celebrating the world’s best media coverage of developing countries across a wide range of genres. Take a moment to check out each of the categories below and identify which ones apply to your work.

If you feel your entry is applicable to more than one, feel free to enter into multiple categories!”
– Flora Cartwright, Events Assistant


Children in Conflict Reporting Award
Sponsored by Save the Children, this award highlights media that accurately portrays issues related to children in conflict zones by telling compelling stories that generate empathy + understanding.

Past winners: Lost Generation, Vice


Digital Media Award
For websites, interactive features and apps that use creative and innovative techniques and content to extend understanding of, and engagement with, developing countries. Sponsored by Google News Initiative.

Past winners: How Nigeria’s Fear of Child ‘Witchcraft’ Ruins Young Lives, Al Jazeera & Made Up to Look Beautiful. Sent out to Die, BBC


Environmental Impact Award
From the climate crisis and zero waste to environmental justice, this award highlights a piece of media (broadcast, online, print or film) that explores the relationship between people + the planet.

Past winners: Critically Endangered Giant Fish on Menu at Luxury Restaurants – Rachel Nuwer for National Geographic


Feature Documentary Award
For a feature-length (40mins+) documentary film that deals with stories in, about or related to developing countries.

Past winners: A Thousand Girls Like Me & The Otherside of the Wall


International Journalist of the Year Award
For a filmmaker or journalist working in any medium who has made the most outstanding contribution to international journalism during the past year.

Past winners: Guillermo Galdos, Channel 4 News & Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo, Reuters


News Award
For a television or online video news report or feature that deals with stories about developing countries.

Past winners: Democratic Republic of Congo: The Forgotten Tragedy, Sky News & Libya Slave Auction, CNN International.


New Voice Award
Celebrates a young filmmaker or journalist working in any medium, 32 yrs old or under, who has made a substantial contribution to international journalism.

Past winners: Yen DuongCathy Otten


Popular Features Award
For a piece of media that deals with stories about developing countries which provides a more accurate, balanced perspective to a wide audience potentially less familiar with developing countries.

Past winners: Rebels with a Cause Elle UK with The Fuller Project & Stacey Dooley: Face to Face with ISIS Insight TWI for BBC Three


Print Award
Recognises a feature article that deals with stories about or related to developing countries. This can include specialist features such as sport, music, food and health.

Past winners: The Uncounted Azmat Khan and Anand Gopal for The New York Times Magazine & A Suicide in Gaza Sarah Helm for The Guardian


Radio + Audio Award
Celebrates an audio feature, podcast, or single programme from a series, broadcast on radio or online, that deals with stories about or related to a developing country.

Past winners: Nigeria’s Patient Prisoners, BBC World Service & South Sudan: A Failure to Act, BBC World Service


Refugee Reporting Award
Sponsored by British Red Cross, this award recognises a piece of media (broadcast, online, print or film) that covers refugee issues by telling compelling stories that generate empathy and understanding.

Past winners: Britain’s Refugee Children, True Vision Wales for Channel 4 & Escape from Syria – Rania’s Odyssey, The Guardian


Short Film Award
For a short film (5-40mins) that deals with stories about developing countries.

Past winners: Riding ‘The Death Train’ to America’s Border & Rebel Puppeteers of Sudan


Special Award
For an independent media org based in a developing country, this award seeks to recognise and encourage outstanding reporting that informs the public, creates a space for critical info and holds those in power to account.

Past winners: Radio FreshAlhudood


Student Award
Celebrates a piece of media (film, radio, digital or print) made by a student as part of a journalism or filmmaking course that deals with stories about or related to developing countries.

Past winners: Anak Malaysia by Sarah Cohen & China in Ethiopia by Paul Zhou


TV Documentary Award
Sponsored by EBRD, this award recognises a factual journalistic programme broadcast on TV or online, either standalone or one episode from a series, that deals with stories about a developing country.

Past winners: Sweet Sweet Codine, BBC Africa Eye & Exodus: Our Journey Continues Part 2, KEO Films for BBC Two



Step 2: Learn about the criteria for the award(s)

The Awards look to champion stories that demonstrate originality, creativity, and the potential to catalyse change. All entries should highlight underreported stories or issues, or explore new angles on familiar topics. You can view detailed eligibility criteria here.

Make sure that you read the eligibility criteria carefully and that you meet all of the requirements for the category you are entering.
– Will Jameson, Events Manager


Step 3: Tell us about your work on the simple entry form

We are particularly looking at how the story is told: Is it amplifying voices that are normally unheard? Is it an inspiring story that will create change? Does the story challenge misperceptions or stereotypes of developing countries?

The entry process is simple. We ask a few questions about your work, where we can find it, and the impact it has had. You can save and return to your entry form at any point, just make sure it’s submitted by February 13th!

Don’t leave it too late, uploading your work can take a while! But if you run into any problems, don’t panic, you can always give us a call on +44 20 7922 7941
– Flora Cartwright, Events Assistant


Step 4: Submit your entry by Feb 13th!


Enter the One World Media Awards 2020!

Deadline: 13th February 2020

Across 15 categories, the awards celebrate and recognise the best media coverage of developing countries; stories that break down stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people from different cultures.