Announcing the winners of the One World Media Awards 2021!

Today we announced the winners of the annual One World Media Awards. The winners represent the year’s best media coverage of the global south across 15 categories.

Jon Snow, Channel 4 News, said:

“Congratulations to all of this year’s winners and nominees. In a time of increasing division, your work is critical in shining a light on underreported stories that help us make sense of the world.”

Over 500 entries were submitted across 15 award categories – including feature documentary, news, environmental impact and refugee reporting. From Myanmar to Mexico, Burundi to Bangladesh, entries came from a record-breaking 96 countries. Final nominees and winners were selected by a panel of the industry’s most distinguished journalists, filmmakers and media professionals.

Mishal Husain, BBC Today Programme, said:

“These important awards showcase independent journalism rooted in communities and reflecting stories that deserve as wide an audience as possible”

For the first time in its 33 year history, the winners of the One World Media Awards were announced live in an online ceremony streamed all over the world. The ceremony was hosted by special guests Jenny Kleeman (Times Radio, Unreported World, BBC Panorama) and Nelufar Hedayat (Doha Debates, Newsround, Channel 4 News) and a unique interactive exhibition showcased all of this year’s nominees.

Gemma Bradshaw, Director of One World Media, said:

“One World Media’s mission is to highlight underreported stories and provide a platform for voices too rarely heard in the media. We are honoured to play our part in bringing these incredible stories to a wider audience. Congratulations!” 


View all winners and nominees of OWM Awards 2021:

Digital Media Award (sponsored by Google News Initiative)

Environmental Impact Award (sponsored by Waterbear Network)

Feature Documentary Award

  • Winner: Softie | LBx Africa | Sam Soko

  • Nominee: The Art of Living in Danger

  • Nominee: Writing With Fire | Black Ticket Films | Rintu Thomas & Sushmit Ghosh

International Journalist of the Year Award

News Award

New Voice Award

Popular Features Award

Print Award

Podcast & Radio Award

Refugee Reporting Award (sponsored by British Red Cross)

Short Film Award

Student Award

  • Winner: Last Chance for Justice | UCL | Marina Shupac

  • Nominee: On Tour | UCL | Wen Huang

  • Nominee: The Power of Choice | Cardiff University | Carolyne Chepkoech Bii

TV Documentary Award (sponsored by EBRD)

Women Entrepreneurs Reporting Award (sponsored by EIB)

Special Award