One World Media Awards 2019 – Call for Entries!

Now in its 31st year of celebrating journalistic excellence in international media coverage of the developing world, One World Media is calling for journalists, filmmakers and media industry professionals from around the globe to submit their ground breaking, original, and engaging work for the annual One World Media Awards by Thursday 14th February 2019. Entry is open to staff, freelance and student journalists, and media professionals based anywhere in the world.


Focused on highlighting the vital role journalists and filmmakers have in increasing cultural understanding and supporting equality and justice worldwide, the One World Media Awards have set an industry gold standard for media professionals reporting in, on and from the developing world, throughout Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia and the post- Soviet states. Entries are judged not only on the basis of production and editorial values, but also the originality of content and the accuracy, impact and reach of their reporting.


Hosted by Jon Snow, the prestigious One World Media Awards attract top decision makers from the media, and from education, government, and international development. With the addition of two new categories in 2019, the Children in Conflict Reporting Award sponsored by Save the Children and the Environmental Reporting Award, the One World Media Awards now boast fifteen different categories covering digital, print, radio and broadcast journalism, as well as both short and feature length documentary film.










Entries are open for all 15 categories, celebrating work across media platforms and a wide range of genres:

  • International Journalist of the Year Award
  • Feature Documentary Award
  • New Voice Award
  • Television Documentary Award – sponsored by EBRD
  • Radio and Audio Award – supported by the European Broadcasting Union
  • Print Award
  • Digital Media Award – sponsored by Google
  • News Award
  • Refugee Reporting Award – sponsored by British Red Cross
  • Environmental Reporting Award
  • Popular Features Award
  • Short Film Award
  • Children in Conflict Reporting Award – sponsored by Save the Children
  • Student Award
  • Special Award

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 17 June 2019, held at BAFTA in London.

Find out more about the One World Media Awards eligibility and criteria.

Enter Now